

For those unable to make our annual recognition dinner, you missed a great event!! Approximately 70 people were in attendance and treated to an evening of good food and recognition of deserving individuals. We started off with colors being posted by the MacArthur High School (HS) award winning color guard. Here are the other highlights:

Four of our high school scholarship winners were in attendance and recognized. *Michael Adesola*, Elgin High School; *Tyler Harbin* and *Karlie Marcum*, Cache HS; and *Ruthie Hargrove*, Central HS. *Symphony Veloz*, Elgin HS *and Lawson Knox*, Marlow HS were unable to attend. Additionally, our Cameron University Leadership award winner, *Cadet Earnest Thompson* was also in attendance and introduced.















Michael Adesola

Ruthie Hargrove Karlie Marcum

Symphony Veloz Lawson





Bill Kindt received the Korean Ambassador for Peace Medal from Lieutenant Colonel Choi, the Korean Liaison Officer on Fort Sill. This award is authorized by the government of the Republic of Korea and is given to deserving veterans of that era (1950-1953) who fought to keep the Republic of Korea free.



Sam Coffman and Ed Petersen were each awarded MOAA Leadership Awards for their long and distinguished service in support of MOAA both at the national and local levels. Both Sam and Ed have made significant and lasting contributions over the many years each has served in the various positions held. They are each living examples of MOAA's motto, "Never Stop Serving."



Susan Kremmer was recognized and awarded the SWOK MOAA Chapter Certificate of Appreciation for her many years of outstanding support to the Auxiliary and as our chapter Treasurer. Sue has truly never stopped serving!

MAJ (RET) Craig Redfearn and the MacArthur JROTC were presented a \$500 check to help support that program and in recognition of excellence. The MacArthur JROTC has won the state drill and ceremony competition for three consecutive years.





Finally, for the 9th consecutive year, our chapter was recognized for achieving a 5-Star rating from MOAA for Levels of Excellence Award and Col. Marvin J. Harris Communications Award. Presentations were made by *Dennis Clippinger*, State Council President to Chapter President *Don DuRant* for the *LOE Award* and Chapter Webmaster *Charlie Hutchinson* for the *Col. Marvin J. Harris Communications Award*.

A big thank you to Dennis Clippinger for organizing and coordinating this very successful event.

A comprehensive video of the entire evening can be viewed by clicking this link: <u>SWOK Chapter</u> of MOAA Recognition Dinner (May24)